“A little shameless self-promotion never hurt anyone”

Actually, it did.

I’m increasingly convinced of this – yes – of the untruth of the title of this post.

And yet with a bajillion blogs and sites and articles and posts and pics and rants clogging the interweb, the shameless self-promotion seems necessary for getting one’s message out; one’s brand. Or is it?

I don’t know. All I know is that it doesn’t really jive with me. I’m a real Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde when it comes to this stuff. I’m fiercely drawn to desire people’s affirmation, and that really scares me about myself.

I see how the North American church is sick with celebrity culture, self-promotion being the modus operandi of the whole thing. And I have this funny feeling that I would be purrty happy with the whole setup if I was part of the select few voices at the top. Which scares me. Consider it a gracious gift that this test has been spared me – I do (in my better moments).

I read somewhere recently that celebrity necessarily dehumanizes. Yes, I thought to myself – that’s right. It objectifies the person. A celebrity is not a person, it’s a thing. And what a thing! That’s why when we meet a celebrity and see them eating potato salad or something it is such a strange experience. What? You mean… they do that too? The experience forces a little bit of humanity back onto the object. We need to run in that direction, and hard, for our sake and for everyone else’s.

 

About Phil Cotnoir

I'm not so unlike you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

